Sexual Misconduct and the Laws in Michigan

Michigan law defines sexual misconduct in a number of ways. The most common charges are sexual battery, sexual assault and rape, but all of those offenses fall under the broader category of criminal sexual conduct in the state. These charges can range from a first degree felony to a four degree offense, which is a type of misdemeanor. Those who plead out or receive a conviction from the court face up to a lifetime in prison. Before finding an attorney in Detroit to help you with your sexual misconduct trial, you should learn more about these laws.

What is a Sexual Assault?

The law in Michigan defines a sexual assault as any type of unwanted conduct between two individuals. Rape is a type of criminal charge that applies when one person has sexual intercourse with someone without that person’s consent. It also applies in cases where one person used an object to assault another. Michigan also has statutory rape laws in place to protect underage citizens. This law forbids sexual intercourse or sexual relations between anyone over the age of 18 and someone under the age of 16.

What are the Possible Charges?

A first degree sexual misconduct charge occurs when one person penetrates the other through the use of force, coercion, alcohol or drugs. Criminals may face this charge after sexual intercourse with someone under the legal age, a family member or a disabled individual. A second degree felony occurs when there is some type of inappropriate touching but no penetration, and a third degree conviction often involves a teenage victim. Michigan can also charge individuals with a fourth degree criminal charge, which is a misdemeanor. Even if you did not have intercourse with someone, the law forbids sexual contact between those with disabilities or impairments.

What are the Penalties?

If you face a misdemeanor charge, you may a prison term of up to two years and a fine of around $500. All other types of convictions will require that you register as a sexual offender if convicted. The amount of time you must register ranges from 10 years to the rest of your life, and you may face five to 25 years or more in prison. A rape or sexual assault charge can completely ruin your life, which is why you need to talk with a Detroit criminal law expert before your trial.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *